Divided France

Rostislav Botev

Map of Vichy France
Digital art reproduced on vinyl

Creative Commons

In the Summer of 1940, over the course of six weeks, Germany overran Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, and France. As part of the armistice agreement France signed with Germany, Germany occupied northern France and all of France’s Atlantic coastline down to the border with Spain. A new French government was established in the town of Vichy, which was in the unoccupied southern part of France. The line of demarcation separated Nazi-occupied Northern and Coastal France from Vichy (or “Free”) Southern France.

While Vichy France was officially neutral, its leaders worked closely with the German government. They hoped that appeasing them would allow for more independence. Antisemitic legislation similar to that of the Third Reich was enacted. However, cooperation with the Nazis did not offer Vichy France the freedom leaders had hoped for. When the Nazis began rounding up Jews to deport to concentration camps in 1942, roundups were conducted in both Occupied and Vichy France. By late 1942, the entirety of France was under Nazi occupation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s